Skip to main content

Workshop on Energy Investments in Uzbekistan

On 4 October 2018, the Knowledge Centre of the Energy Charter Secretariat organised a workshop on energy investments in Uzbekistan with the participation of more than 40 attendees from European institutions, representatives of energy companies, media, academia and others participants interested in energy investments in Central Asia region.

The current investment situation in Uzbekistan was discussed, particularly in relation to the energy sector.

A round table discussion was moderated by Dr. Marat Terterov, with presentations contributed by

  • H. E. Dilyor Khakimov, Ambassador of Uzbekistan in Belgium
  • Mr. Faizulla Shaismatov Head of the Department of the Integrated Development of Energy and Chemical Industry, State Committee of the Republic of Uzbekistan on Investment (presentation : Uzbekistan's Energy Sector)
  • Mr. Aziz Khamidov, Head of the Energy Division and Construction Materials, State Committee of the Republic of Uzbekistan on Investment (presentation: This is the right time to invest in Uzbekistan)
  • Mr. Richard Wheeler, Head of the International Centre for Energy Security Dialogue and former-Senior Official at the OSCE working on Central Asia
  • Dr. Urban Rusnák, Secretary General of the Energy Charter Secretariat,

as well as experts from the Energy Charter Secretariat

The delegation from Uzbekistan delivered two presentations on Uzbekistan’s energy sector challenges, opportunities and current developments. Overall, the country is setting ambitious targets for the energy sector. Uzbekistan, which is known for its production of oil and gas, wants to generate 20% of its electricity from renewable energy by 2030 and placing a big bet on solar.

The workshop seemed to open a new wave of investor thinking about Uzbekistan, with some participants referring to it as ‘a country of the move’. Uzbekistan has moved up the rankings in the investment attractiveness ratings rapidly during the last 18 months. Uzbekistan signed the Energy Charter Treaty in 1995 and is one of founding members of the Energy Charter Conference.

Mr. Aziz Khamidov; Dr. Urban Rusnák and Mr. Faizulla Shaismatov

Mr. Faizulla Shaismatov and Mr. Richard Wheeler