Skip to main content

The Ninth General Assembly of IRENA convenes in Abu Dhabi

The 9th General Assembly of IRENA took place in Abu Dhabi from the 10–13 January 2019. It was an opportunity for Energy Charter Secretary-General Dr Urban Rusnák, to discuss the modernisation of the Energy Charter Treaty (ECT) with high-level representatives from Member countries including HE Claude Turmes, the Minister of Energy of  Luxembourg, HE Mohammed Al-Anani, the Minister of Electricity and Energy of Yemen, HE Gantulga Tudevkhuu, the Vice-Minister of Energy of Mongolia, HE Mohammad Gul Khulmi, the acting Minister of Energy and Water in Afghanistan, as well as Ambassador Stefan Larus Stefansson, the Permanent Representative of Iceland to IRENA and Mr Pekka Grönlund, the Deputy Director General at the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment in Finland

The IRENA event also provided an opportunity to address the accession process of certain Observer countries. The Secretary-General met with high-level representatives including HE Bachir Ismael Ouedraogo, the Minister of Energy of Burkina Faso, HE Boukar Michel, the Minister of Oil and Energy of Chad, HE Senator Peter Bhembe, the Minister of Natural Resources and Energy of Eswatini, HE Sambou Wague, the Minister of Energy and Water in Mali, HE Aziz Rabbah, the Minister of Energy, Mines and Sustainable Development of Morocco, HE Irene Muloni, the Minister of Energy and Mineral development in Uganda, HE Victor Urrutia, the Energy Secretary of State in Panama as well as Mr Hasan Al-Shami, the Legal Advisor to the Ministry of Energy and Water in Lebanon, Mr Fanrong Li, Deputy Administrator at the China National Energy Administration and Mr Eli Jidere Bala, the Director General of the Energy Commission of Nigeria.  

The Energy Charter Secretariat would like to congratulate Mr Francesco La Camera for his appointment as the new Director General of IRENA and thanks Adnan Z. Amin for the excellent cooperation with the Energy Charter Secretariat during his term. The Secretariat will continue its collaboration with IRENA on the transition towards an increasing share of renewable energy in the primary energy mix of its Members. 

SG & HE Al-Anani, Minister of Electricity and Energy of Yemen

SG & HE Ouedraogo, Minister of Energy of Burkina Faso