Skip to main content

The Eurasian Economic Commission visits the Energy Charter Secretariat

On 26 April 2018, a delegation of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) visited the Energy Charter Secretariat in Brussels. The Eurasian Economic Commission is the permanent regulatory body of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) which brings together the Republic of Armenia, the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic and the Russian Federation. 

Energy Charter Secretary-General Dr Urban Rusnák welcomed the delegation and briefed on the International Energy Charter, work of the Secretariat on the Energy Investment Risk Assessment (EIRA) project and the current stage of the Energy Charter Treaty (ECT) modernisation process. Mr Leonid Shenets, Director of the Energy Department of the ECC, explained the ongoing work of the Commission regarding the integration of energy markets of member countries. Taking into account overlapping membership and common energy challenges, the need for a regular exchange of information and deeper cooperation between two organisations was stressed.