Skip to main content

Technical Subgroup on Transit concludes its first Meeting

The Technical Subgroup on Transit held its first meeting on 16 May 2018. The Subgroup was established in 2017 to support the Implementation Group by setting out policy recommendations on facilitating and securing energy transit. The Subgroup brings together the representatives of the oil, gas and electricity industry from the Energy Charter Contracting Parties as well as Industrial Advisory Panel members. Following the appointment of Ms Klara Rakhmetova as the Chair of the Subgroup, Ms Anna Maisuradze from the Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development of Georgia was appointed as the Vice-chair. 

The first meeting served as a platform for policy dialogue to facilitate discussion on existing practices and experiences in term of access to energy infrastructure and transit tariffs. Members of the Subgroup from the EU, Turkey, Ukraine, Kazakhstan, Georgia, Turkmenistan, Kyrgyzstan updated the Subgroup on cross-border infrastructure pipelines and projects as well recent developments related to energy regulations in respective countries. The Subgroup also discussed the update of the Energy Charter Model Agreements and cooperation with the Legal Advisory Task Force on this issue.