Skip to main content

Mr. Jambulat Sarsenov appointed as Special Envoy of the Secretary General

Secretary General Dr. Rusnák appointed Mr. Jambulat Sarsenov as his latest Special Envoy. Mr. Jambulat Sarsenov, is Deputy Chairman of the KAZENERGY Association and was Vice-Chairman of the Energy Charter Conference in 2013 and 2014.

Mr. Sarsenov has twenty years of experience in the oil and gas industry. He is a member of the Kazakhstan National Committee of the World Petroleum Council and the World Energy Council. Prior to joining KAZENERGY in 2005, Mr. Sarsenov held senior positions in the National Company "Transportation of Oil and Gas", National Company "KazMunayGas", National Company "Trade House "KazMunayGas" and the Kazakh-Russian company "KazRosGas". Mr. Sarsenov graduated from the Diplomatic Academy majoring in "International Relations", underwent advanced training in "Master of Petroleum Businesses", and has a number of scientific publications. 

Other Special Envoys of the Secretary General are Mr. Nobuo Tanaka, Mr. Mehmet Ögütçü and Mr. Jan-Meinte Postma. Mr. Tanaka is the former Executive Director of the International Energy Agency, he is currently the Global Associate for Energy Security and Sustainability at the Institute for Energy Economics in Tokyo. Mr. Ögütçü has built his career as a Turkish diplomat, IEA principal administrator, OECD executive and BG Group director for government relations. He is currently serving as chairman, board member and strategic adviser in a number of multinational corporations. Mr. Postma held various positions at the Netherlands Ministry of Economic Affairs, was Minister Plenipotentiary at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and was The Netherlands Energy Envoy from 2006 till 2013.