Skip to main content

International Energy Charter Attends ECOWAS Ministerial Meeting in Cote D’ivoire

A Technical Meeting of Experts, preceding the Meeting of Ministers in charge of Energy of ECOWAS Member States, was held on 3 December 2018 in Abidjan. The opening ceremony was marked by a statement delivered by the Minister of Energy of Côte d’Ivoire, Mr Thierry TANOH. 

ECOWAS Commissioner for Energy and Mines Mr Sédiko DOUKA, recalled that the willingness of the ECOWAS Member States to make regional integration a preferred strategy for the economic development of the sub-region culminated in the development of an ECOWAS Master Plan in 1999. The Commissioner enumerated some of the gains in implementing the Master Plan and welcomed the active involvement of all stakeholders.

The meeting enabled the Experts to review documents prepared by ECOWAS for strengthening the Regional Electricity Market. The Energy Charter Secretariat presented the Energy Charter Process and Energy Investment Risk Assesment (EIRA) Initiative for the ECOWAS sub-region.

To further elaborate on the existing ECOWAS and particularly about Nigeria’s relations with the International Energy Charter, the Director General/CEO, Energy Commission of Nigeria, Prof. Bala Eli Jidere, outlined the deepening collaboration between Nigeria and the International Energy Charter and its benefits to the nation since becoming an Observer in 2017. Prof. Bala Eli Jidere discussed projects and programmes jointly undertaken including a long-term MoU signed, the recent high-level National Energy Summit in Abuja, Nigeria in October 2018, EIRA 2018 Extended Country Profile, Secondments of National Experts to the Secretariat in Brussels, and high-level participation in Energy Charter related group meetings, among others. 

Prof. Bala Eli Jidere encouraged the ECOWAS Member States to participate in the Energy Charter Process by signing the International Energy Charter Declaration. Representatives of all ECOWAS Member States were present along with other specialised agencies such as West African Power Pool (WAPP), ECOWAS Regional Electricity Regulatory Authority (ERERA), ECOWAS Centre for Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency (ECREEE), and a host of other institutions and organisations such as the World Bank and GIZ.